South Florida Chapter Lacrosse Happenings

US Lacrosse Announces Roster for Grand Opening

Aug 31, 2016 1:45 PM

US Lacrosse has named 44 players that will play in an exhibition game Sept. 11.

US Lacrosse and U.S. men’s senior team head coach John Danowski have named 44 players that will play in an exhibition game Sept. 11 as part of the US Lacrosse Grand Opening celebration weekend. Three Florida Launch players have been selected for the intra-squad scrimmage. Tucker Durkin, Kieran McArdle, and Matt Landis will suit up for the red, white, and blue as a part of US Lacrosse' Grand Opening weekend in Sparks, Maryland.

Durkin is no stranger to playing for Team USA as he was a member of the 2014 U.S. men’s senior team. The defenseman is coming off of another stellar year in the MLL as he was named to the 2016 MLL All-Star team and All-MLL team. Durkin collected 28 ground balls and forced 14 turnovers as he anchored the Launch defense this season.


Durkin won’t be the only Launch defender to make the trip as rookie standout Matt Landis is set to make his first appearance for the U.S. men’s senior team. Landis was selected third overall in the 2016 after enjoying a historic career at Notre Dame that included two Schmeisser Awards and two ACC Defenseman of the Year awards. In his first season with the Launch, Landis posted 25 grounders and nine forced turnovers in just eight appearances.


Kieran McArdle’s team-high 56 points during the 2016 season turned many heads in the lacrosse world as the third year attackman continues to develop in the pros. McArdle led the team in both goals and assists which is why it should not come as a shock that this will be his third appearance on the senior team, as he has previously played in the Seatown Classic (2014) and in a US Lacrosse exhibition (2015).


The 44-man roster will play an intra-squad scrimmage as part of a tripleheader Sept. 11 at the US Lacrosse headquarters. The U.S. women’s team plays at 10a.m., the men’s team at 1p.m., and end with an exhibition game between the New York City Police Department (NYPD) and the Fire Department of the City of New York (FDNY) at 4p.m.


The men’s roster for Grand Opening weekend:



*^Ned Crotty, Rochester Rattlers, Duke '10

Matt Danowski, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Duke '08

*Marcus Holman, Ohio Machine, North Carolina '13

Eric Law, Denver Outlaws, Denver '13

Will Manny, Boston Cannons, Massachusetts '13

Kieran McCardle, Florida Launch, St. John's '14

*Rob Pannell, New York Lizards, Cornell '13

Joey Sankey, Charlotte Hounds, North Carolina '15


Peter Baum, Ohio Machine, Colgate '12

Mike Chanenchuk, Charlotte Hounds, Maryland '14

John Haus, Charlotte Hounds, Maryland '13

Myles Jones, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Duke '16

*^Paul Rabil, New York Lizards, Johns Hopkins '08

Tom Schrieber, Ohio Machine, Princeton '14

Jeremy Sieverts, Denver Outlaws, Maryland '09

Drew Snider, Denver Outlaws, Maryland '12

#Joe Walters, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Maryland '06

Faceoff Specialists

Brendan Fowler, Charlotte Hounds, Duke '14

*Greg Gurenlian, New York Lizards, Penn State '06

Joe Nardella, Boston Cannons, Rutgers '15

Greg Puskuldjian, Ohio Machine, Adelphi '15

Short-Stick Defensive Midfielders

*Matt Abbott, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Syracuse '09

Brent Adams, Boston Cannons, Fairfield '12

Jake Bernhardt, Ohio Machine, Maryland '13

Steve DeNapoli, New York Lizards, Hofstra '11

Will Haus, Charlotte Hounds, Duke '15

Jacob Richard, New York Lizards, Marquette '16

Kevin Unterstein, New York Lizards, Hofstra '08


*Jesse Bernhardt, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Maryland '13

*Tucker Durkin, Florida Launch, Johns Hopkins '13

*Michael Evans, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Johns Hopkins '09

Joe Fletcher, New York Lizards, Loyola '14

*Kyle Hartzell, New York Lizards, Salisbury '07

Matt Landis, Florida Launch, Notre Dame '16

John Locascio, Rochester Rattlers, Villanova '14

Mike Manley, Rochester Rattlers, Duke '12

Jackson Place, Ohio Machine, Bucknell '14

Scott Ratliff, Atlanta Blaze, Loyola '13

Joel White, Rochester Rattlers, Syracuse '11

Chad Wiedmaier, Boston Cannons, Princeton '12


*Drew Adams, New York Lizards, Penn State '09

Tyler Fiorito, Boston Cannons, Princeton '12

John Galloway, Rochester Rattlers, Syracuse '11

Brian Phipps, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Maryland '11


* Member of 2014 U.S. Men's Senior Team

^ Member of 2010 U.S. Men's Senior Team

# Member of 2006 U.S. Men's Senior Team


Your module is not being displayed because it is configured with an incompatible Module Style.

In the settings panel, change the Module Style setting to Host: Classic - 5_Registration_Banner_Only

External links are provided for reference purposes. USA Lacrosse South Florida Chapter is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites.

Copyright 2022 by USA Lacrosse | Privacy Notice

Sports league management software by SportsSignUp Play